Free short story!

I read an interesting blog post Monday morning by Fred Hicks about ‘Pay What You Want’.

In light of the blog post and the idea as a whole, I’m sharing a short story. Enjoy!

Golden Green

Aspen Gainer (© 2010)

“I’m glad I went to all that therapy. When I was a kid I hated it, but I pretty much hated everything until I was about twenty. At twenty, things started making sense. Maybe my brain was less addled by hormones and able to think like a grown up. I realized that my dad’s suicide wasn’t my mom’s fault, far from it, really. Mom and I are really close now, thanks to all that. And we were close with both Mom’s parents and Grandma Joan, until she died a few years ago.”

I looked at Maddie’s face. She said nothing, just stared at me

“I kept going to regular psych sessions until I was twenty five. I still go now, every once in a while if things get bad. Preventative medicine, I like to call it. So that’s my story.”

Golden green. Never seen anything like her eyes.

“Nothing to say, Quirk? No response to me heartfelt story?”

She was silent for a minute longer, then looked down at the table. Her shoulders hunched up a bit and she squeezed out her words like it pained her.

“Stop calling me Quirk. I hate it.”

“Ok. Sorry. I kind of thought you liked it.”

“Liked it? Quirk?” She planted her hands on the table and leaned forward, cheeks turning red and curly hair standing up like a ’fro. “I know I’m fucking weird,” she snapped, “but I don’t like it rubbed in my face.”

This was not going like I expected.

“Shit, girl, I’m sorry.” She glared at me.

[to read the rest of the story, click on the title of this blog post.]